DVD Releases

The Keith Emerson Band Featuring Marc Bonilla, “Moscow”

The Keith Emerson Band  Featuring Marc Bonilla, Moscow

Keith Emerson is hailed as a keyboard legend. He is known as one of the most prominent leaders in the progressive rock movement, fusing rock ‘n’ roll with a myriad of musical styles, such as classical, jazz and world music.

Marc Bonilla has played guitar and toured with Toy Matinee as well as recording two critically acclaimed guitar instrumental albums. For over a decade he has composed and performed for numerous television shows such as Justified, The PJ’s and 90210 as well as major motion pictures including Iron Man 2, The Replacements, Scorpion King, and Falling Down, collaborating with such notables as James Newton Howard, John Debney, Joel McNeely and Snuffy Walden, and receiving an Emmy award nomination in 2001 for his score for David Milch’s Big Apple.

Filmed 2008 in Moscow, Russia with Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound.

Last year marked Keith Emerson’s return as composer and performer with the highly acclaimed CD, The Keith Emerson Band Featuring Marc Bonilla.  This DVD captures the live recordings of six songs from that CD.

Highlights include re-workings of several classic ELP tracks such as a full version of “Tarkus,” “Karn Evil 9,” “Lucky Man,” “Bitches Crystal” and “The Barbarian.”  What distingushes these new arrangements has been the addition of guitar wizard, Marc Bonilla, both as singer and co-arranger.  When interviewed recently Keith confessed that these new re-constructions with guitar reflected more accurately the way he had originally envisioned them.

Besides Emerson and Bonilla, the band members include drummer Tony Pia (who has played with Edgar Winter, Brian Setzer, and is currently with the Doobie Brothers) and multi-faceted newcomer Travis Davis on bass and backing vocals.

Track List:
1.   Karn Evil 9 (1st impression)
2.   Piano Concerto (3rd movement)
3.   Bitches Crystal
4.   Malambo
5.   Touch And Go
6.   Lucky Man
7.   Miles Away (pt.1)
8.   Miles Away (pt. 2)
9.   Crusaders Cross
10.  Fugue
11.  Marche Train
12.  Finale
13.  The Barbarian
14.  Tarkus
15.  Nutrocker

Filmed live in Moscow

Also available:

The Keith Emerson Band featuring Marc Bonilla


Keith Emerson

Marc Bonilla


Ozark Mountain Daredevils: 1980 Reunion Concert, Rhythm And Joy

The Ozark Mountain Daredevils were among the most popular mid-’70s country-rock bands. These recently discovered video tapes of their memorable reunion concert, filmed New Year’s Eve, 1980 at the Uptown Theater, Kansas City, Mo., feature their original lineup, along with later supporting members. This was the first time in five years that the original lineup all played together. The DVD features their signature songs “Jackie Blue” and “If You Wanna Get To Heaven.” This live reunion concert is the first official DVD by The Ozark Mountain Daredevils.

The Dillards, A Night In The Ozarks, 302 066 768 2

A Night In The Ozarks was filmed live at a Salem, Missouri farmhouse, welcoming the audience into their living room as the boys rehearse for a show. We see The Dillards family and friends’ spirited live performances of their best-known songs. Featuring the original line-up of The Dillards – Rodney and Douglas Dillard, Mitch Jayne and Dean Webb – this documentary also features a special appearance by Homer Dillard Sr., the family patriarch whose incredible musicianship and energy interact with the boys to bring the family together in a memorable demonstration of the real Dillard sound. The documentary was produced and conceived by John McEuen of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, who attributes The Dillards’ musical and performing influence on him as the main catalyst that led to NGDB’s landmark album Will the Circle Be Unbroken. Includes a new bonus feature with John McEuen discussing the making of this documentary. Previously available only via mail order, A Night In The Ozarks has been unavailable for over 10 years.

Bill Anderson, Live: 40 Years Of Classic Country, 302 066 718 2

Bill Anderson is one of the most successful singer-songwriters in Country music history, charting more than 80 times during his long career, including seven number one hits. This is Bill Anderson’s first-ever DVD. It features performances of many of his biggest hits, including “Still,” “Wild Week-End,” “I Love You Drops,” and “The Tips of My Fingers.” The DVD also contains three songs not previously recorded by Bill: “Orange Blossom Special,” “Wreck Of The Old 97” and “May You Never Be Alone.” Bill Anderson, 40 Years of Hits was filmed on the occasion of Bill’s 40th anniversary as a member of the Grand Ole Opry.

Johnny Tillotson, Sings His All-Time Greatest Hits, 302 066 741 2

This is Johnny Tillotson’s first official DVD. It features a collection of performances of his biggest hits, including “Poetry In Motion,” “It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin’,” and “Heartaches By The Number.” Johnny Tillotson is one of the few singer-songwriters in pop music whose popularity crossed over to the country charts, where several of his hits reached the top ten. As a songwriter his hit “It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin’” was nominated for a Grammy for “Best Country & Western Recording,” and has been recorded by over 100 artists, including Elvis Presley, Bobby Darin, Conway Twitty and Dean Martin. As a bonus feature the DVD also includes a new insightful conversation with Johnny, answering many questions his fans have long wanted to know. He will also be discussing his hits and songwriting as well.

Petula Clark “Petula,” 302 066 794 2

Grammy-winning, international singing star Petula Clark, the most successful female vocalist to emerge from the musical British Invasion of the United States in the 1960s racked up an impressive string of hit records, including the number one smash, “Downtown.” In 1968, she starred in her first American TV special Petula, featuring Harry Belafonte. The critically acclaimed show, produced and directed by Steve Binder (Elvis ’68 Comeback Special), stirred controversy after Petula and Harry touched while singing an anti-war duet.

• The special is loaded with hits, including “Downtown,” and “Don’t Sleep In The Subway.”

• DVD bonus features include recent interviews with Petula Clark, Harry Belafonte and producer Steve Binder in addition to vintage sponsor TV and radio commercials performed by Petula and a photo gallery.

This entry was posted in DVD Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s